Local delegation attends GEF expanded constituency workshop for the Caribbean


A six-member delegation from the Government of Antigua and Barbuda along with two representatives from civil society organisations attended the Global Environmental Facility (GEF) Expanded Constituency Workshop for the Caribbean in St. Lucia from May 28-31, 2019.

The GEF organizes Expanded Constituency Workshops to update the GEF National Focal Points, Convention Focal Points and other key stakeholders, including civil society on GEF strategies, policies and procedures and to encourage coordination.

The event enables focal points and their representatives to meet with their regional counterparts. It also allows other GEF partners, especially GEF Agencies, to discuss and review policies and procedures and to share experiences from GEF projects and their integration within national policy frameworks.

GEF also made provisions for civil society organizations (CSOs) to participate in the Expanded Constituency Workshop and discuss ways of deepening their engagement with the GEF. The GEF Secretariat selected two representatives from CSOs in Antigua and Barbuda to attend:

This year, 150 delegates from agencies and organisations from other countries in the region attended the GEF Expanded Constituency Workshop for the Caribbean.
The Expanded Constituency Workshop featured interactive exercises as well as discussions on gender mainstreaming and GEF’s new Monitoring and Evaluation policy of projects and activities.

A “GEF Knowledge and Learning Day” was also organized to enable delegates to learn from the methods and best practices of five GEF-funded projects in St. Lucia.
The GEF provides funding for projects in Antigua and Barbuda that focuses on preservation of protected areas, climate change, pollution, cross-cutting capacity building initiatives, and biodiversity.

The GEF Caribbean Constituency is comprised of Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.