PM congratulates St. Vincent on membership to UN Security Council


Prime Minister Gaston Browne has congratulated the government and people of St. Vincent and the Grenadines on the country’s election as a non-permanent member of the United Nationals Security Council.

In a message to St. Vincent’s Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves, Browne said it is a result of “hard work and earned respect for your convincing election today as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council.”

“You have demonstrated that smallness is not an obstacle to meaningful participation in global decision making.”

Browne said  he has “every confidence that St Vincent and the Grenadines will give a strong voice to the causes of small states in the Security Council and that it will continue to uphold principled and objective positions on issues with which the Council will grapple.”

“Antigua and Barbuda is proud of St Vincent and the Grenadines and we send our best wishes for a successful tenure on the Security Council and assure you of our unstinting support,” the Prime Minister said. 

St. Vincent and the Grenadines on Friday became the smallest country to be elected to the United Nations Security Council.

The country  – the Group for Latin America and Caribbean’s (GRULAC) endorsed candidate for the Security Council received 185 votes after a 10-year campaign. 

The council is composed of 15 members. 

There are five permanent members: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, and 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly.